域名和商标

带".com"的网址曾是互联网的主要形式。随着电子商务的发展和新的通用顶级域名(gTLD)的采用,未来几年内将新推出约1900个通用顶级域名。

每个新通用顶级域名在推出时将提供"预先注册期",允许商标持有人在通用顶级域名向公众开放注册前预先注册与所持商标匹配的域名。这将使商标持有人具有显著优势,一般来说,商标持有人可以任意挑拣想要的商标和通用顶级域名组合。

这给商标所有人提供了巨大良机,如今也可以对其商标扩展名称进行域名登记备案。例如:公司Royal Flush Plumbers (Pty) Limited现在可以注册 www.royal-flush.plumbing域名。

大量顶级域名也会给商标所有人带来一定程度的风险,因为到后期,对域名享有合法注册权利的抢注者乃至第三方都可以注册域名。

另外,毫不夸张地说,现在可以注册使用而不需要取得商标权的新域名就有成百上千个。

要知道域名注册与商标注册完全独立,这一点很重要。换句话,拥有一项商标权不能自动确保一定能取得相应的域名所有权。


域名和企业名称

不幸的是,域名注册和企业名称登记也完全独立。也就是说,取得一个特定的企业名称并不能自动享有该企业名称对应的域名所有权。这往往成为很多客户的致命伤。

我们总是建议把命运掌握在自己手中,而最好的行动是先发制人和防范于未然。我们建议提交与商标申请一致的公司名称申请。这同样适用于域名——最好注册与商标申请一致的域名。

还要注意的是,就像电话号码一样,域名申请通常采用优先申请原则,一般来说,任何人都可以注册任何想要的域名。如果第三方取得的域名与你的企业名称和商标相似易混淆,势必会有风险。明确的是,不管单独注册商标、企业名称或域名中的哪一个都不能防止他人抢注其他部分。为了自身利益,要全盘考虑,不要留有后患,更不要给对手以可乘之机

最终,如果有相同或高度近似的商标、域名、企业名称正威胁到您的业务,应当机立断进行解决。《公司法》和《商标法》提供了一系列的补救措施。例如,迫使他人变更企业名称。此外,各域名管理机构也制定了一系列规定和补救措施或许可以帮到您。

Domain Names & Trade Marks

It used to be the case that a .com website address was the premier form of online presence. The world of eCommerce is developing, and the adoption of the new Generic Top-Level Domains (gTLD) program will result in the launch of approximately 1,900 new gTLDs over the next few years.

Each new gTLD will launch with a "Sunrise Period". The Sunrise Period will allow trademark owners to secure domain names, matching their registered trademarks, before the gTLD is made available to the general public. This gives trademark owners a distinct advantage and, generally speaking, you may pick-and-choose any combination(s) of trademark and gTLD that appeal to you.

This provides tremendous opportunity to trademark owners, who will now also be able to record domain name variations of their trade marks. For example: Royal Flush Plumbers (Pty) Limited may now be able to host their web site at www.royal-flush.plumbing

The vast number of TLDs also poses a degree of risk for trademark owners, as domain names could later be registered by a "cyber-squatter" or even a third party with a legitimate right to the domain name.

There are also, literally, hundreds of new domains that are now available for your registration and use, and which do not require you to hold any trade mark for this.

It is very important to be aware that domain name registries operate entirely independently of trade mark registries. The mere fact that you might hold a trade mark does not automatically guarantee you the right to obtain a corresponding domain name.


Domain Names & Business Names

Unfortunately, it is also the case that domain name registries operate entirely independently of company name registries. The mere fact that you have a particular company name does not automatically guarantee you the right to obtain a corresponding domain name. This often comes as a terrible shock to many clients!

We always like to suggest taking your destiny in your own hands, and that the best course of action will always be to act preemptively and defensively. As far as it is possible, we suggest filing an application for your company's name, corresponding to the trade mark application. The same goes for Domain Names – it is always advisable to register domain name corresponding to your trade mark application.

Also bear in mind that, just like a telephone number, Domain Name applications, typically, are dealt with on a first-to-file basis and, generally speaking, it is possible for any person to register any desired Domain Name, and there is always a real danger of a third party acquiring domains that are confusing similar to your company name or your trade mark. So the message is clear: be aware that a single trade mark registration / company name registration / domain name will not, automatically, permit you to stop others from acquiring any other. Do yourself a favour, and do not leave matters to chance. Or to your competition.

Finally, if identical, or confusingly similar, trade mark / domain name / company name issues are threatening your business, relief may be at hand. The Companies Act and the Trade Marks Act both provide a series of remedies, for example, to compel another person to change their company name. In addition, the various Domain Authorities have a series of rules and remedies that may be relied on to assist you.