知识产权注册:商标

商标具有地域性。只有向指定国家的商标权利机关申请商标注册,商标才能在该国获得法律保护,欧共体商标体系除外。

根据南非《商标法》,具有显著性的标志和能够图示的图形可以作为商标获准注册。国际分类将商品和服务划分为45个类别,商标申请须指定其中一个或多个类别。商标申请的类别取决于使用商标的商品和/或服务的性质。

对已注册商标的保护包括,禁止在相同和/或易造成混淆的近似的商品或服务上未经授权使用或注册与该注册商标相同和/或近似的商标。另外,在某些情况下,该保护还延伸至不相同的商品或服务。

注册商标每10年续展一次,只要持续缴纳续展费用,将长期受到保护。

虽然法律对注册商标提供强有力的保护,但是对未注册商标的保护仅限于普通法相关权利。为了行使普通法权利,商标权利人必须证明该商标通过使用已具有知名度。

玛戈律师事务所(Margo® Attorneys, Inc.)将为您提供如下服务:

  • • 商标(可注册性和防止侵权)检索和名称检索;

  • • 在南非和其他国家办理商标申请;

  • • 商标诉讼:侵权处理、异议处理及驳回复审、仿冒和不当竞争、打假处理

  • • 商标转让、名义变更、商标权质押等商标备案;

  • • 商业化和拟定商业协议,包括许可、特许经营以及技术转移和转让协议。详细了解更多知识产权商业化服务,请点击此处。

  • • 商标组合审计;

  • • 网络法规和域名注册:包括该领域的争议解决;

  • • 娱乐法相关服务(包括音乐、广播和出版的法律事宜)


无论是客户还是事务所,如果有需要,不管是乌克兰的商标申请、几内亚比绍的专利续展,还是中国的知识产权转让,玛戈律师事务所都能满足客户需求,提供高水平的专业服务。



免责声明
本文仅供参考,不作为全面的法律声明,不构成亦不得理解为法律意见,也不得作为特定情况下具体意见的参考依据。对于引用本文所提供信息作为其他用途的依据所导致的任何后果,玛戈律师事务所不承担任何责任。

IP Registrations: Trade Marks

Trade marks are territorial in nature, and statutory protection of your trade mark can only be obtained, save for certain exceptions such as the Community Trade Mark system, by making an application for the registration of your trade mark in terms of the trade mark legislation of your country of choice.

In South Africa, the Trade Marks Act permits the registration of inter alia distinctive signs and descriptions that are capable of graphical representation. Trade marks must be filed in singular or plural classes of the International Classification which has 45 classes of goods and services. The classes in which the trade mark is filed will be dependant upon the nature of the goods and/or services in relation to which your trade mark will be used.

Protection is offered against unauthorised use of identical and/or confusingly similar marks in relation to the identical and/or confusingly similar goods or services in respect of which a mark is registered, and may, in certain circumstances, also extend to dissimilar goods or services.

Trade marks will enjoy protection so long as renewal fees are paid every 10 years.

Although registered trade marks provide strong protection, unregistered trade marks are protected to an extent on the basis of common law rights. In order to invoke common law rights, reputation on the basis of use of the trade mark must be shown.

At Margo® Attorneys, Inc., our service offerings include:

  • trade mark registrability & clearance searches, and name searches;

  • the preparation, filing and prosecution of trade mark applications, in South Africa and abroad;

  • Trade mark litigation: infringement proceedings, opposition proceedings & responding to objections, passing-off and unlawful competition, and anti-counterfeiting procedures.

  • trade mark recordals such as assignments, changes of name, hypothecations etc;

  • commercialisation and preparation of commercial agreements, including licences, franchise agreements and technology transfer & assignment agreements. Click here for more detail on our Commercial IP commercialisation services;

  • Trade Mark portfolio audits;

  • cyberlaw and domain name registrations: including the resolution of disputes in this field; and

  • entertainment law services (including music, broadcast and publishing legal aspects)


Whatever it is that our clients and associates require: from trade mark applications in the Ukraine, to renewals in Guinea Bissau, to assignments in China: at Margo® Attorneys, Inc., clients acquire best knowledge with above average delivery of service.



Disclaimer
This article is intended to be general in nature. It is not intended to be a comprehensive statement of the law, nor does it constitute an opinion, and should not be construed as such. It should not be relied upon as a substitute for specific advice regarding particular scenarios. Margo® Attorneys, Inc. cannot accept responsibility for the consequences of any person relying on the contents of this document for any other purpose.